Saturday Shop with me @ CVS

March 20, 2010 at 2:10 pm 6 comments

Today I grabbed my mom & went shopping at CVS.  We are in the middle of a big snow storm, but all that meant was that the store was fairly empty & pretty well stocked for me 🙂  Extreme couponing at its best!!  I am so glad the Nature’s Bounty deal was still going on.  I was able to find a TON of vitamins & get the overage for the other things I was after.  YAY!

I did 3 separate transactions for a total OOP of $3.27.  *As a side note, I only count the cash I actually spent as OOP*

#1:

2 Pamper’s Cruisers – $8.97 each, used $2 coupons – $13.94
2 Airwick i-Motion air fresheners – $4.99 each, used $4 coupons – $1.98
6 Nature’s Bounty vitamins – $35.34, used $30 in coupons, $17.57 in store discounts – $12.23 overage!
CVS paper towels – $1.29, used $1 CRT coupon – $.29
Trident – $1.29
Used $4.49 in EB
Total OOP = $0.93, earned $6 EB (Pampers)

#2

2 Pamper’s Cruisers – $8.97 each, used $2 coupons – $13.94
1 Airwick i-Motion – $4.99, used $4 coupon – $.99
6 Nature’s Bounty vitamins – $29.94, used $28 in coupons, $14.97 in store discounts – $13.03 in overage
4 Stayfree maxi pads – $3.79 each, used 2 $1 coupons and 2 BOGO coupons – $5.58
Used $5.99 in EB
Total OOP = $1.72, earned back $6 EB (Pampers) and $8 EB (Stayfree)

#3

4 Stayfree maxi pads – $3.79 each, used 2 $1 coupons and 2 BOGO coupons – $5.58
Used $5 EB
Total OOP = $.62, earned $8 EB (Stayfree)

So, my overall OOP was $3.27 for all of these items.  The original cost of these items was over $160 (before tax!).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

ALERT: KMART COUPON NOT VALID Happy Easter – Help Support CMN!!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tanya  |  March 20, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Do you know what time your CVS starts the Sunday ad on Saturdays? I haven’t figured out what time my stores do yet and I’m wondering if they all switch at around the same time. I usually wait to go until later in the evening (like after 7) but I might try to go earlier next week to see if it works.

    Reply
    • 2. sammyssecrets  |  March 20, 2010 at 4:08 pm

      They all start at different times. I usually dont know when, but if the next week’s tags are out then its active. Also, grab an item you know is on sale for the next week & scan it at the scanner – if its the sale price, then the sales are active 🙂

      Reply
      • 3. Tanya  |  March 20, 2010 at 8:08 pm

        I ran to CVS tonight and at our north store one of my favorite supervisor’s was working. I went ahead and asked him what time they start their sales. He said it all depends on the manager working and when they decide to download the following week’s sale. He said if he’s working that day he does it early but it still might take a couple of hours since it has to be done in 6 different batches. But he did say most of the time it’s done by at least 3 🙂

  • 4. ThriftyPuppy  |  March 20, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Tanya, the stores are all different, unfortunately. The store I shop at in Independence is a 24/7 store and doesn’t start the deals early on Saturday. But I just ran into a fellow couponer yesterday who said that her store does (this is the one on 87th in Lenexa). The one in North Kansas City does as well. If they’ve got the price labels on the shelves, they’re required to sell the item to you at that price (by law). You might just call ahead to your favorite store and ask if they honor the sales early.

    Reply
  • 5. ThriftyPuppy  |  March 20, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    Sam, I couldn’t find a way to email you, but I wanted to let you know that I’ve given you a virtual Easter Basket over on my blog. Please come on over and check it out, because it’s for a great cause: the Children’s Miracle Network!

    Reply
  • 6. sammyssecrets  |  March 21, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Thanks, Thrifty Puppy!!! I just posted about it. Also thanks for the reminder that I need to get an email link in the sidebar 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


New? Check out these posts to get started

How to get started with CVS ________________________________ How to get started with Walgreens ________________________________ How I use my printer to print money ________________________________ How to get coupons and keep them organized ________________________________ Stockpiling Basics

Coupon Terms

BOGO = Buy one, get one (usually buy one get one free).

EB = Extra Bucks. Use these like cash at CVS.

IP = Internet Printable coupon.

IVC = Instant Value Coupon. These are at Walgreens

MIR = Mail in Rebate

OOP = Out of Pocket

P&G = Proctor & Gamble. One of the Sunday
coupon inserts.

RP = Red Plum. One of the Sunday coupon inserts.

RR = Register Rewards. Use these like cash at Walgreens.

SS = Smart Source. One of the Sunday coupon inserts

WYB = when you buy

Recent Posts

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

