Rebates – free money!

January 25, 2010 at 4:27 pm 4 comments

My rebates from the Dulcolax and Olay are starting to come in.  So far I have received $20 in rebate checks this month.  I purchased the rebate items with Register Rewards and Extra Care bucks – a way to legally turn my coupons into cash.  And, what I have found out from my tax friends & by reading the IRS website, rebates are tax free.  You dont have to claim them as income, because they are considered to be a purchase-price adjustment by the manufacturer.

What should I do with my rebate money?  So far its only $20, but I can see that amount growing to be quite a bit by the end of the year.  Take my poll below – I will go with the most popular option 🙂


Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

HyVee 48 hour sale 1-25 to 1-26 Robert’s milk & dairy coupons!!!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LisaB  |  January 25, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    I love doing the bigger rebates. Do you bother with the $1 rebates? To me it doesnt seem worth the cost of the stamp. What do you think?

    Reply
    • 2. sammyssecrets  |  January 25, 2010 at 5:39 pm

      Yeah, I usually dont bother with the $1 ones either. Most of them have to be $3 or higher to really make it worth it.

      Reply
  • 3. leah bush  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I love the larger discounts too. I try for 5.00 or more unless its a product that I am getting for free to being with or a MM.

    I know we should all be putting money towards our bills/debt BUT you and hubby deserve some time away. Especially with the 60 hour/2 job work weeks. Even if its just a short weekend away.
    I am planning our anniversary weekend already so it can be as frugal as possible. We saved our Christmas money which almost covers a 3 night condo stay (stay 2 get 1 free and going off season for Pigeon forge so cheaper rates)
    Plus I used my debit rewards, swagbuck amazon gift cards and some RR’s to buy food gift cards so we can eat out without going over budget and still do shopping and fun activities. 🙂
    Hope that inspires you to take a few days to yourself and hubby!

    Reply
    • 4. sammyssecrets  |  January 26, 2010 at 7:21 pm

      Hopefully we get to take a trip sometime soon, even if its just across the state to STL!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


New? Check out these posts to get started

How to get started with CVS ________________________________ How to get started with Walgreens ________________________________ How I use my printer to print money ________________________________ How to get coupons and keep them organized ________________________________ Stockpiling Basics

Coupon Terms

BOGO = Buy one, get one (usually buy one get one free).

EB = Extra Bucks. Use these like cash at CVS.

IP = Internet Printable coupon.

IVC = Instant Value Coupon. These are at Walgreens

MIR = Mail in Rebate

OOP = Out of Pocket

P&G = Proctor & Gamble. One of the Sunday
coupon inserts.

RP = Red Plum. One of the Sunday coupon inserts.

RR = Register Rewards. Use these like cash at Walgreens.

SS = Smart Source. One of the Sunday coupon inserts

WYB = when you buy

Recent Posts

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

