CVS Fun 11-15

November 16, 2009 at 6:54 pm 2 comments

Yesterday after church I headed out to CVS.  Its been awhile since I have been there, and I thought I should roll my EBs a bit.

Transaction #1:

2 Theraflu Warming liquids – $6 each, -$1.50 blinkie coupons (machine on shelf that spits out coupons) = $4.50 each

2 NyQuil + Vitamin C – $5 each, – $1.50 coupons from 11-1 P&G = $3.50 each

2 Glade Sense N Sprays (one not pictured) – $6 each, -$3 from 10-18 SS = $3 each.
(There is a $3 coupon for these on CVS.com too, but my manager would not let me use both.  Most stores will, not sure why he was such a pain yesterday).

-$10.50 EB

Total OOP was $10.27,earned $10 for buying $20 worth of medicine, and $4 for buying $12 worth of Glade.

 

Transaction #2

Covergirl Simply Ageless foundation – $13

Covergirl Simply Ageless blush – $10, -$10 coupon (buy a foundation, get face item free from 11-1 P&G).

1 Trident layers gum

Used $14 EB from previous transaction & paid $0.00!

Earned $10 EB from Covergirl deal (buy Simply Ageless Foundation & Blush, get $10 EB).

 

This was a frustrating shopping trip.  You are supposed to be allowed to use a CVS and a manufacturer coupon on an item, but the manager didn’t want to do it on the Glade.  Stinks 😦  So I should have only paid $3.50 + tax, but oh well.  The Covergirl coupon beeped too, and he almost didn;t want to take it, but there was no dollar limit (sometimes they have a max amount for the free item, but not on this one) so he forced it through.  That was nice.  If he would not have done that, I would have just cancelled the transaction & left without the makeup.  Its not like I really need any more around here anyway!

That is one thing I have learned – when things dont work out exactly the way I want them too, I either cancel the transaction & try at another store, or I look at the items I got, and realize that I would have spent a lot more on them if I had gone to WalMart, and call it good.  Only paying $10.27 for all of this wasn’t a bad deal – if you are just starting out at couponing, I would say its great.  Its about $1.15/item.  I can handle that 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Walgreens Fun 11-15 Need some Theraflu?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tanya  |  November 17, 2009 at 2:23 am

    That is SO frustrating when they will not accept a coupon. I completely agree about walking away if the deal doesn’t go like it should have.

    PS – getting ready for another (3rd) couponing class this weekend. I hope it goes well 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. leah bush  |  November 17, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Its a good deal still like you said. But Ive been the same way even when I realized I pay under a dollar for certain items it annoys me because I know I should have gotten them for free.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


New? Check out these posts to get started

How to get started with CVS ________________________________ How to get started with Walgreens ________________________________ How I use my printer to print money ________________________________ How to get coupons and keep them organized ________________________________ Stockpiling Basics

Coupon Terms

BOGO = Buy one, get one (usually buy one get one free).

EB = Extra Bucks. Use these like cash at CVS.

IP = Internet Printable coupon.

IVC = Instant Value Coupon. These are at Walgreens

MIR = Mail in Rebate

OOP = Out of Pocket

P&G = Proctor & Gamble. One of the Sunday
coupon inserts.

RP = Red Plum. One of the Sunday coupon inserts.

RR = Register Rewards. Use these like cash at Walgreens.

SS = Smart Source. One of the Sunday coupon inserts

WYB = when you buy

Recent Posts

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

